Ludlow Arts: Classical

The Forum

Saturday 18 Febuary 2017 at 7:30pm

Ludlow Methodist Church, Broad Street

Alison Loram, violin
Caroline Nowotarski, violin
David Joyce, viola
Ruth Henley, cello

Mozart: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, K525
Ravel: String Quartet in F major
Dvořák: String Quartet No.12 in F major, Op.96

The concert includes performances of two of the best-loved quartets in the repertoire preceded by a quartet arrangement of Mozart's delightful serenade No.13.

Ravel's quartet of 1903 met with critical reserve at its première but was soon recognised as the first masterpiece of his career. Dvořák's American, was written in The Czech village of Spillville in the summer of 1893 between two of his visits to the USA. Like its cousing the New World Symphony it draws on influences from American music.

Tickets: £10 (£8 concessions) from Wesley's Café, Ludlow Methodist Church and at the door, subject to availability.

W.A. Mozart
Maurice ravel
Antonin Dvořák